Sooz

My biography is shared in my newsletter stories which are available here. There is something else I’d like you to know about me that a simple biographical summary cannot express. One of the most important instruments of my own faith story is how poetry and prayer have come together to liberate me, heal me, and bring me closer to God who has sustained me and my faith.

What do I mean by poetry as prayer and prayer as poetry? I started writing as an adolescent simply because the pain needed to be released, it needed a way out or I felt I would be devoured by it from the inside out. The words that reflected the pain were too vile, too poisonous to be spoken, so I put them on paper. At least for awhile I felt separated from them. When the pain finally transpired into words, it felt like I was letting God in on something He did not know, things even He could not imagine. He was my Physician just like I studied in school, so it made sense to me to take my pain to Him. I believe during that time the writing began to clarify my feelings—feelings which I did not know there were words for—but somehow I felt God had the power to read between the lines. Writing was magical, mysterious silence exhaling all that was buried inside. It was like sharing the “dark side” with the trusting light of God. Writing became a conversation in my mind, I would write, and, while reading it back, I would “hear” the hurt that came from many involved and from those who refused to become involved. However, in that release of hurt and anger, I would hear God’s voice whispering over and over, “I hear you. I am listening.”

That is when writing the poems evolved  into prayer. And the two are inseparable, poem-prayer, prayer-poem. They are no longer my personal source to release unspeakable pain. They have transformed and continue as my conversations with God, however, now the prayer-poems are for you. I believe it is His will to share it with you and for you. My prayer for you is, “Trust Him, He hears even your muffled cries.”


SOOZ FAVORITES

SPECIAL BOOKS

Immortal Diamond: The Search for Our True Self
By Richard Rohr

Shattered Soul? Five Pathways to Healing the Spirit after Abuse and Trauma
By Patrick Fleming and Sue Lauber-Fleming and Vicki S. Schmidt

Man’s Search for Meaning
By Viktor E. Frankl

SPECIAL QUOTES

In this life we cannot do great things. We can only do small things with GREAT love.

Blessed Mother Teresa

The hunger for love is much more difficult to remove than the hunger for bread.
Blessed Mother Teresa

SCRIPTURE

Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.
Romans 12:12

8 thoughts on “Sooz

  1. it’d be great if they made us some way to help but nowhere here even to talk to the bishop must be different all over and nobody gives a dammhere

    Like

  2. Just saw this on twitter and I need to reaad more. I’m not like you but went through things too and haven’t seen this sort of information before. Thank you all.

    Like

  3. You are so right! I found my own home and familly and that healed my past so much. What BEAUTIFUL things to say about your son. He sure is a lucky little boy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

