Child Abuse Prevention

Mike Hoffman, Founder

This is a Special Edition of the Healing Voices newsletter in observance of April as National Child Abuse Prevention Month. In periodic (non-regular) special editions, we expect to examine a variety of special topics related to healing ourselves and the larger Church from the wounds of abuse. For me, a deeply personal issue is the prevention of child abuse. Understanding that I was abused by our Catholic priest as a little boy, my wife and I still send our children to Catholic schools. We volunteer and are active in our parish. I served on the Athletic Board. My wife works at our parish. We instill in our children the overall Catholic identity instilled in us. Doing so is a complex emotional process, but, in short, it gives me great comfort to know that my kids, and all the kids of our parish, now have people surrounding them who can protect them from abuse so they can grow, thrive and build up their faith with dignity, the way God intended. It takes work to protect children. The Safe Environment Coordinator of the Archdiocese of Chicago calls this work an “on-going ministry of safe environment.” I agree with her, and I thank you for your interest in this topic. I hope you will find this edition informative and thoughtful.

THIS ARTICLE INTRODUCES THE FULL CHILD PREVENTION MONTH ISSUE 2016. FOR THE FULL ISSUE SEE HERE.

Leave a Reply

