God, Face to Face

By Charlene and Rick Niemi

A priest friend recently told me that I cannot always judge past events through the eyes of “what I know now”.  That brings to mind thoughts from 1 Corinthians:  “At present we see indistinctly, as a mirror…but when the perfect comes…then face to face.”

During this Christmas season if I can allow for the birth of the infant savior within me, no matter how harsh the conditions, then perhaps I will see more clearly God’s will for me.

“My soul proclaims the greatness of the Lord….”

Luke 1:46-55


Charlene Niemi, RN, MSW, PhD, is a nurse who has been researching forgiveness and other characteristics in survivors of abuse. Her husband, Rick Niemi, contributed to this reflection as inspiration and co-author. 

Leave a Reply

