MARIA GORETTI NETWORK: THREE SPECIAL PRAYERS

Miguel Prats

The Maria Goretti Network (MGN) finds Jesus Christ to be the source of true healing and forgiveness. Three of the most important prayers we use are these:

The Maria Goretti Prayer

Dear God,
We ask you to help us find healing and peace in our life.
Grant us hope in these times of trial.
May Maria Goretti, who was strengthened by Your grace,
join with us in prayer for healing of all victims of abuse,
particularly those abused as children or young adults.
Fill us with your Love so that as Maria prayed for her attacker,
we too might seek Your mercy through prayer and penance.
Loving God, pour into our hearts and lives your healing Spirit,
that the Sacredness of every human person

 might be respected and protected
as the Precious image of God.
Help us live in the peace

which Maria Goretti found in Christ
and in the love of his mother Mary.
We ask this in the name of Jesus Christ Our Lord.
Amen.

(Author: Rev. G. Vaverek JCL)

The Anima Christi

Soul of Christ, sanctify me.
Body of Christ, save me.
Blood of Christ, inebriate me.
Water from Christ’s side, wash me.
Passion of Christ, strengthen me.
O good Jesus, hear me.
Within thy wounds hide me.
Suffer me not to be separated from thee.
From the malicious enemy defend me.
In the hour of my death call me.
And bid me come unto thee
That I may praise thee with thy saints
and with thy angels
Forever and ever.
Amen.

We also pray the long version of the
Serenity Prayer:

God, grant me the serenity
To accept the things I cannot change,
Courage to change the things I can,
And Wisdom to know the difference.

Living one day at a time,
Enjoying one moment at a time,
Accepting hardship as the pathway to peace.
Taking, as He did, this sinful world as it is,
Not as I would have it.
Trusting that He will make all things right
if I surrender to His will.
That I may be reasonably happy in this life,
And supremely happy with Him forever in the next.
Amen.

Miguel Prats is the President and Co-founder of the Maria Goretti Network. Discerning a dire need for a Catholic-based survivor community after having served as SNAP (Survivor’s Network of those Abused by Priests) Regional Director in Texas & LA for some years, Mr. Prats was moved by the story of St. Maria Goretti, St. Josephine Bakhita and St. Maximillian Kolbe. For more information, see the Maria Goretti Network website www.mgoretti.org or Facebook page, or contact miguel@mgoretti.org. For us, Mr. Prats has written The Maria Goretti Network and Listening, Saints and Miracles. Mr. Prats also has contributed to the Round Table discussion of the resignation by Marie Collins from the Pontifical Commission for the Protection of Minors.

Leave a Reply

